January 22, 2012

baiju chandran


Joined Doordarshan in 1984 and worked as Producer of News and Current Affairs Programme at Doordarshan Kendra, Thiruvananthapuram till 1999.Worked as Assistant Station Director, at DDK, Kohima during 1999-2000.Worked as Film Officer on Deputation at Kearala State Film Development Corporation (KSFDC) during 2000-2002 and was in charge of Digital Studio, Documentaries and the programme ‘RANGOLI’ produced for Doordarshan.

Worked as Assistant Station Director at Programme Production Centre, Doordarshan, Guwahati (2002-2004) and presently working as Assistant Director Programmes at DDK, Thiruvananthapuram since 2004.

Produced more than 2000 live news bulletins and over 1000 programmes of various genres including Telefilms, Documentaries, Stage shows, Debates, Talkshows, Quiz Programmes etc. Major Programmes include:

Telefilm ‘SAKUNAM’ based on the short story by Kovilan in the Classic short story series produced by Doordarshan featuring Murali, Urmila Unni and Remya Nambisan in lead roles. (2006)

‘KALAM KEDUTHATHA KANAL’ Documentary in 35mm produced by Kerala State Chalachitra Akademy on renowned writer Ponkunnam Varkey. (2002)

‘NINACHALOZHUKIYA NALVAZHIKAL’ a two part Documentary on the naxalite period in the political history of Kerala produced by Doordarshan (1996). The film was shown in the competitive section of the Festival Internationale Programme Audio Visuel (FIPA) held at Biarritz, France and also at the Videotheque Festival, Paris, Mumbai International Film Festival (1998) and various festivals in and around Kerala.

‘ADOORINTE SARGAPRAPANCHAM’ Documentary on the renowned film maker Adoor Gopalakrishnan (1995).

MAVOOR:MANUSHYA MANASAKSHIYUDE MUNNIL ORU CHODYACHINNAM on the Labour strike at Mavoor Gwaliyar Rayons. (1988)

Documentaries on eminent personalities Thakazhi, Basheer, Prem Nazir, O.V.Vijayan, M.Mukundan, Kunjunni Master, Artist Namboothiri, Santha P.Nair are the other major works.

Authored the biography of renowned poet and Jnanpith winner Prof. O.N.V.Kurup published by State Institute of Childrens Literature 2011

Co-authored the book ‘DRISHYA SHRAVYA MADHYAMANGAL’ published by Kerala State Language Institute and ‘MADHYAMA NIGHANDU’ published by D.C. Books.

Member, Board of Studies, Dept. of Communication and Journalism, University of Kerala, Board of Examiners and Guest faculty of Universities of Kerala, Calicut, Kannur and Mahatma Gandhi University, Centre for Development of Image Technology (C-Dit), Kerala Press Academy both under Govt. of Kerala and Journalism Institute under Trivandrum Press Club.

Closlely associated with the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) since its inception in 1995 as member of the organizing committee. Was member of the selection committee of Indian and Malayalam Film section of IFFK 2011. Worked as member of Jury of various Film / Media Festivals including Padmarajan Award for best Malayalam film and Script (2011) and Kerala State Media Award consecutively since 2005.

Won Adoor Bhasi Puraskaram and Chengarapally Parameswaran Potty Puraskaram for life time contributions to Media in 2010.

No comments: